Which Dems Voted Against Obama on TARP?

Wondering just which Democrats voted to NOT let President-elect Barack Obama have access to the remaining $350 billion in Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP) funds?

And which Republicans voted to let him have at it?

From our Senate booth, ABC News' Z. Byron Wolf tells us that if you look at the roll call , you can see that nine Democratic senators voted against giving Obama the money (for the anti-TARP resolution).

They were:

Perennial vice presidential bridesmaid Sen. Evan Bayh of Indiana, Maria Cantwell of Washington, Byron Dorgan of North Dakota, Russ Feingold of Wisconsin, Blanche Lincoln of Arkansas, Ben Nelson of Nebraska, Bernie Sanders of Vermont (technically an Independent), Jeanne Shaheen of New Hampshire and Ron Wyden of Oregon.

Wolf and ABC News' Vic Ratner note that of these nine, five are up for re-election in 2010: Bayh, Dorgan, Feingold, Lincoln, and Wyden.

Six Republicans voted to give Obama the money (a Nay vote on the resolution):

GOP Sens. Lamar Alexander of Tennessee, Judd Gregg of New Hampshire, Jon Kyl of Arizona, Dick Lugar of Indiana, Olympia Snowe of Maine and George Voinovich of Ohio.

Sen. Jim Bunning, R-Ky., did not vote.

And in the interest of Senate comity, two senators who were present and would have voted against giving President-elect Obama the money -- Orrin Hatch, R-Utah, and Jon Tester, D-Mont. -- refrained from voting because two colleagues who would have voted to let Obama have the TARP funds, Sens. Ted Kennedy of Massachusetts and Sherrod Brown of Ohio, were unable to make the vote.

-- jpt

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...