ABC News Investigative Team Awarded Edward R. Murrow Award for Runaway Toyota Investigation

In addition, ABC News Affiliated Stations KMGH-TV, WFAA-TV, and WMTW-TV Honored ABC News Chief Investigative Correspondent Brian Ross and the ABC News Investigative Team have been awarded the 2011 National Edward R. Murrow Award for “Video Continuing Coverage” for their exclusive investigation that revealed how Toyota had for years ignored complaints from hundreds of its owners about cars suddenly accelerating out of control. The reports aired first on World News with Diane Sawyer, Good Morning America, and Nightline. The ground-breaking ABC News reports exposed the automaker's slow reaction over the years to serious safety problems and helped prompt the company to acknowledge defects, shut down sales and manufacturing, recall almost nine million cars and apologize to its customers. ABC News comprehensive coverage of the runaway Toyota investigation can be found here. In addition, several ABC News affiliates were honored in both the large market and small market categories. In the large market television category KMGH-TV in Denver was awarded for “Video Continuing Coverage” for its “Fatal Errors: Death at the State Hospital” reports and WFAA-TV in Dallas was honored with the award for “Vide o Reporting: Hard News” for its “Fallen Heroes” reporting and for “Video Investigative Reporting” for its “Bitter Lessons” report. In the small market television category, WMTW-TV in Auburn, Maine was awarded for “Video Newscast” for its local 6:00 p.m. newscast “News 8 at Six.” A full list of recipients can be found here.

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...