Vote Breakdown: Who Are 54 Republicans That Bucked GOP Leadership on CR Vote?

ABC News’ John R. Parkinson reports:

There was a significant revolt against the House GOP's latest effort to avoid a government shutdown, in fact so much opposition that the bill would not have passed without Democratic support Tuesday afternoon.

Judging from the vote ( 271-158), 54 House Republicans could have killed the measure had it not been for the support of 85 House Democrats.

So who are the 54 Republicans that bucked House Speaker John Boehner and the GOP leadership to oppose the measure?

--Twenty-two freshmen representatives – many associated with the Tea Party movement.

--At least three House lawmakers with aspirations to join the upper body of the legislative branch. Reps. Dean Heller, R-Nev., Denny Rehberg, R-Montana, and Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., are considering launching campaigns for the Senate.

--One member, Mike Pence, R-Ind., who is weighing a campaign for governor of the Hoosier State.

--And two possible contenders for the GOP nomination to challenge President Obama in 2012 – Reps. Michele Bachmann, R-Minn., and Ron Paul, R-Texas.

Here’s the full list of House Republicans who voted against the three-week CR ( bold indicates freshman member):

Todd Akin (Missouri) Justin Amash (Michigan) Michele Bachmann (Minnesota) Roscoe Bartlett (Maryland) Joe Barton (Texas) Dan Benishek (Michigan) Dan Burton (Indiana) John Campbell (California) Steve Chabot (Ohio) Jason Chaffetz (Utah) Jeff Duncan (South Carolina) Jeff Flake (Arizona) John Fleming (Louisiana) Trent Franks (Arizona) Scott Garrett (New Jersey) Phil Gingrey (Georgia) Louie Gohmert (Texas) Trey Gowdy (South Carolina) Tom Graves (Georgia) Ralph Hall (Texas) Andy Harris (Maryland) Dean Heller (Nevada) Tim Huelskamp (Kansas) Bill Huizenga (Michigan) Tim Johnson (Illinois) Walter Jones (North Carolina) Jim Jordan (Ohio) Steve King (Iowa) Raul Labrador (Idaho) Doug Lamborn (Colorado) Jeffrey Landry (Louisiana) Billy Long (Missouri) Connie Mack (Florida) Thaddeus McCotter (Michigan) Mick Mulvaney (South Carolina) Ron Paul (Texas) Steve Pearce (New Mexico) Mike Pence (Indiana) Joseph Pitts (Pennsylvania) Ted Poe (Texas) Denny Rehberg (Montana) Scott Rigell (Virginia) Dennis Ross (Florida) Jean Schmidt (Ohio) Christopher Smith (New Jersey) Steve Southerland (Florida) Cliff Stearns (Florida) Marlin Stutzman (Indiana) John Sullivan (Oklahoma) Scott Tipton (Colorado) Tim Walberg (Michigan) Joe Walsh (Illinois) Allen West (Florida) Joe Wilson (South Carolina)

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...