VOTE BREAKDOWN: Congress Passes Bipartisan Deal to Fund Govt, Senate Votes 81-19

UPDATE 4/14/11 6:08 p.m.

ABC News’ Matthew Jaffe reports that the Senate Thursday evening passed the bipartisan budget deal, sending the measure on to the White House for President Obama’s signature.

The vote tally was 81-19.

The 19 senators voting against the budget deal consisted of 15 Republicans, three Democrats, and one Independent –

Republicans: Tom Coburn, Mike Crapo, Jim DeMint, John Ensign, Lindsey Graham, Orrin Hatch, Jim Inhofe, Ron Johnson, Mike Lee, Rand Paul, James Risch, Marco Rubio, Richard Shelby, Pat Toomey, David Vitter

Democrats: Pat Leahy, Carl Levin, Ron Wyden

Independent: Bernie Sanders

ORIGINAL 4/14/11 4:26 p.m.

ABC News’ John R. Parkinson reports:

In a bipartisan vote, 260-167, the House of Representatives narrowly passed the bipartisan agreement reached last week by President Obama, Speaker John Boehner and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid to fund the government through the end of the fiscal year while cutting $38.5 billion from the federal budget.

Fifty-nine House Republicans voted against the bill – more than double the number of GOPers needed to bring down the bill – but 81 Democrats voted to save the deal and send it over to the Senate for a vote later today.

Earlier today Boehner admitted the deal was “not perfect” and “no cause for celebration,” but he said it was just the first step Republicans are taking to cut spending.

“It was a bipartisan agreement to cut this spending, and while we had to drag [President Obama and Sen. Reid) kicking and screaming to the table, we finally secured these budget cuts from them,” Boehner, R-Ohio, said. “These are real cuts, and signal to job creators that we’re serious about stopping Washington’s spending binge.”

Although the speaker does not typically vote, Boehner made an exception and cast his vote in favor of the measure.

Among the leading House Democrats to support the deal was Reps. Norman Dicks (the House Appropriations ranking member who helped negotiate the final details of the deal), Sander Levin (the ranking member of Ways & Means), Chris Van Hollen (the top Democrat on the House Budget committee), the Dean of the House – Rep. John Dingell (the longest serving member in the history of the Congress), Steve Israel (the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee chairman), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (the incoming Democratic National Committee chairwoman), and House Minority Whip Steny Hoyer (the No. 2 House Democrat).

“After hard negotiations with strongly-held beliefs on both sides, a bipartisan deal was reached on a continuing resolution for the remainder of the fiscal year,” Hoyer, D-Maryland, stated earlier Thursday in explaining his vote supporting the bill. “On the whole, my belief is that this measure should pass. We must keep the government open, and it is time to move on and address other pressing issues like job creation and the budget for next year.”

Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi voted against the bill. Earlier Thursday, she said House Democrats were not part of the agreement or negotiations so she felt “no ownership” to the agreement reached last week by the trio to avert a government shutdown.

Pelosi added that members of the Democratic Caucus were free do make their own decisions on the bill, but she was not encouraging members “one way or the other.”

“People are just making their own judgment about it because it is a – you’re talking about subjects that people know a great deal about but they all do want to keep government open,” Pelosi, D-Calif., said.

So who are the 59 Republicans that could have brought down the bipartisan agreement without the Democrats’ rescue?

--Twenty-eight freshmen representatives, many associated with the Tea Party movement including Rep. Tim Scott, R-S.C., one of two freshmen with a seat at the GOP leadership table.

--At least three House lawmakers with aspirations to join the upper body of the legislative branch. Reps. Dean Heller, R-Nev., Denny Rehberg, R-Montana, and Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., are considering launching campaigns for the Senate.

--One member, Mike Pence, R-Ind., who is weighing a campaign for governor of the Hoosier State.

--And two possible contenders for the GOP nomination to challenge President Obama in 2012 – Reps. Michele Bachmann, R-Minn., and Ron Paul, R-Texas.

Here’s the full list of House Republicans who voted against the agreement ( bold indicates freshman member ):

Sandy Adams (Florida) Justin Amash (Michigan) Michele Bachmann (Minnesota) Roscoe Bartlett (Maryland) Joe Barton (Texas) Marsha Blackburn (Tennessee) Paul Broun (Georgia) Steve Chabot (Ohio) Jason Chaffetz (Utah) Chip Cravaack (Minnesota) Jeff Duncan (South Carolina) John Duncan (Tennessee) Jeff Flake (Arizona) John Fleming (Louisiana) Randy Forbes (Virginia) Trent Franks (Arizona) Cory Gardner (Colorado) Scott Garrett (New Jersey) Phil Gingrey (Georgia) Trey Gowdy (South Carolina) Tom Graves (Georgia) Morgan Griffith (Virginia) Andy Harris (Maryland) Dean Heller (Nevada) Tim Huelskamp (Kansas) Bill Huizenga (Michigan) Robert Hurt (Virginia) Tim Johnson (Illinois) Jim Jordan (Ohio) Steve King (Iowa) Jack Kingston (Georgia) Raul Labrador (Idaho) Doug Lamborn (Colorado) Billy Long (Missouri) Connie Mack (Florida) Tom McClintock (California) Thaddeus McCotter (Michigan) Patrick McHenry (North Carolina) Candice Miller (Michigan) Mick Mulvaney (South Carolina) Randy Neugebauer (Texas) Ron Paul (Texas) Steve Pearce (New Mexico) Mike Pence (Indiana) Ted Poe (Texas) Ben Quayle (Arizona) Denny Rehberg (Montana) Scott Rigell (Virginia) Dennis Ross (Florida) Jean Schmidt (Ohio) David Schweikert (Arizona) Tim Scott (South Carolina) Steve Southerland (Florida) Marlin Stutzman (Indiana) Scott Tipton (Colorado) Joe Walsh (Illinois) Allen West (Florida) Joe Wilson (South Carolina) Kevin Yoder (Kansas)

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...